skip navigation

DJHA Announces 2018 Dan Hess Memorial Scholarship Recipients

By DJHA, 05/21/18, 12:00PM CDT


Six Dallas Penguins 18U AA Players To Receive Annual Award

Dallas Junior Hockey Association is pleased to announce the following Dallas Penguins 18U AA players have been selected as recipients of the 2018 Dan Hess Memorial Scholarship Award:

  • Jordan Almeida
  • Colin Bridges
  • Ryan Casey
  • Adam Doucette
  • Preston Ford
  • Will Gongos

In addition to receiving a scholarship award, each recipient will be forever recognized on the Alumni page of our website and their name engraved on a perpetual plaque which is on permanent display in the Dallas Penguins trophy case outside the DJHA Classroom at the Dr Pepper StarCenter in Plano.


The Dan Hess Memorial Scholarship was established in 2005 in honor of Dan Hess who was one of our coaches. In 2014, and as a way of continuing to honor Dan for his service with DJHA, the Board of Directors voted to transition this scholarship program as an annual award given to one or more graduating seniors at the end of each season.

Selection of player(s) to receive the Dan Hess Memorial Scholarship is based on a number of factors. The Application process and award criteria is consistent with the requirements DJHA has used for years, including academic performance in school and involvement in school and community activities.